Blog

Posted on:
Wednesday 13 December 2017

What role can design play for healthcare? And how? These questions were central during the Design for Health (D4H) conference in Melbourne.

Posted on:
Monday 11 December 2017

December 14th there will be a vote to abolish net neutrality in the US. We asked Taco van Dijk why we should worry about this.

Posted on:
Friday 08 December 2017

Which technological applications make it possible for citizens to actively contribute to collecting (environmental) data?

Posted on:
Thursday 23 November 2017

The new directive called PSD2 will give banks the opportunity to share your data with third parties. Do we need to worry about this development?

Posted on:
Wednesday 22 November 2017

Fabschool tought a series of classes in the 021 Maakplaats (Makerspace) in Reigersbos. Kinderen got acquainted with new technology such as 3D printers, lasercutters and design software.

Posted on:
Friday 10 November 2017

As the means of digital fabrication become mainstream, the challenge of the maker movement lies in defining its values of sustainability, openness and critical making more visibly, says Marleen Stikker at the celebration of a decade of Fablab Amsterdam.

Posted on:
Saturday 04 November 2017

The first Fablabs in The Netherlands emerged in 2007, but we were already looking for a workplace to create prototypes long before.

Posted on:
Friday 03 November 2017

There is a new Dutch law on the intelligence services. Why do we have to worry about this law? Nina Boelsums explains.

Posted on:
Wednesday 01 November 2017

Logging in and sharing data on the Internet is far too often unsafe, unreliable, costly, and manipulative. What are the alternatives?

Posted on:
Thursday 26 October 2017

The first STARTS Talks was held in Berlin to discuss the advantages and challenges of collaborations between sciences, technology and the arts.

Posted on:
Wednesday 25 October 2017

What is a biohacker, what does a biohacker do and why should anyone become one? With the BioHack Academy #5 around the corner we listed 7 reasons why.

Posted on:
Monday 23 October 2017

Teacher Maker Camp is an inspiring technical and creatively challenging training for teachers and library staff.

Posted on:
Thursday 05 October 2017

The 'Metaal Kathedraal': a former church and metal factory, but now a cultural and ecological breeding ground at the edge of Utrecht. Xiamyra went to visit the place.

Posted on:
Tuesday 03 October 2017

In a world where science is most often practiced in isolated labs, gaining access to the primary tools is of great importance to many independent researchers.

Posted on:
Monday 02 October 2017

MAD summerschool, sounds like a crazy summerschool but it actually stands for ‘Man and Design’ i.e. a design summerschool. Xiamyra participated.

Posted on:
Friday 29 September 2017

Paulien Melis and Janine Huizenga were at the camp Entre-Nous to speak about Make Health on behalf of the Creative Care Lab.

Pages