Blog

Posted on:
Monday 25 September 2017

An interview (in Dutch) with Marleen Stikker, published in magazine 'de Helling' about big data, written by Erica Meijers and Socrates Schouten.

Posted on:
Friday 22 September 2017

Taiwan is an innovator in the field of public participation and renewing the relationship between citizens and the government. Coen visited Taiwan and shares his experiences.

Posted on:
Wednesday 20 September 2017

Frank Kolkman investigates our fear and experience of death with his installation 'Outrospectre: Simulating Out-of-Body Experiences' and Jurre got to try it out.

Posted on:
Tuesday 19 September 2017

After two Summer Schools at the Waag building in Amsterdam in the past years, a third Summer Academy was organised on location this year.

Posted on:
Monday 18 September 2017

Dozens of kids explored the Marineterrein in Amsterdam with handmade meters.

Posted on:
Monday 11 September 2017

Dóra Kerekes, intern at the Future Heritage Lab, is looking at ways to visualize emotions. She wrote down her latest findings.

Posted on:
Friday 25 August 2017

The second series FabSchool of this year was completely about the wonderful world of biotechnology. What did we do?

Posted on:
Friday 25 August 2017

We need to move away from some of the Smart City rhetoric that seems to imply that the alternative is a dumb city, says Ivonne Jansen-Dings.

Posted on:
Thursday 17 August 2017

Imagine you would be in need of care at home. Are there objects, tools or devices of in the hospital of which you think: "That might work very nice next to my coffee table at home?"

Posted on:
Friday 11 August 2017

Many eHealth applications are actually not finding their way into daily practice, because they do not meet the needs of patients and healthcare professionals. What are the conditions to change this?

Posted on:
Wednesday 09 August 2017

Waag Society was at SHA2017: the hacker event in the Netherlands. How was it and what were the highlights?

Posted on:
Tuesday 08 August 2017

The government is rapidly developing a large number of digital services. We do not want to leave the development of this digital infrastructure to corporate giants like Google and Microsoft.

Posted on:
Friday 04 August 2017

Maybe we can soon just type the CC licenses as text symbols, thanks to a proposal to add them to the international Unicode set.

Posted on:
Wednesday 19 July 2017

The aim of the GammaSense project is to develop an open emergency-infrastructure that can be deployed within minutes, using only your laptop or smartphone and a piece of black tape.

Posted on:
Monday 17 July 2017

The sharing economy has enormous impact on our cities. To stay resilient we need a paradigm shift, says Marleen Stikker.

Posted on:
Friday 14 July 2017

Boys' rooms of the early nineties, with the rattling noise of the first digital modems and the smell of sneakers. The project 'Digital City relives' wants to go beyond nostalgia.

Pages