Blog

Posted on:
Thursday 14 April 2016

The Dutch KWR Watercycle Research Institute started a pilot with citizens in Amsterdam to measure tap water.

Posted on:
Wednesday 13 April 2016

The human body, that fabulous sensing, feeling, moving artefact of nature. It’s such a seamless device that nearly no one notices it’s workings until they’re in bed with the flu. It’s the best user experience possible. Or perhaps not?

Posted on:
Thursday 07 April 2016

A very exciting workshop at the Waag. First of all, because genetically modified glowing bacteria were made. Second, because this workshop was only possible due to a recent change in the law.

Posted on:
Monday 04 April 2016

Going from poor-to-poor towards peer-to-peer: how do we get to an open, sustainable and purpose economy?

Posted on:
Friday 01 April 2016

Kids grow up in a world where the Internet surrounds them, where being online is our normal state of being. What about their privacy?

Posted on:
Wednesday 23 March 2016

Soon everything will be recorded and can used against you. Frank Kresin sees two ways out: a radical emphasis on privacy and a fundamental reconsideration of a number of laws and rules.

Posted on:
Tuesday 22 March 2016

On the 9th of March, the doors of 'Huis de Pinto' were open for everyone interested around the theme of 'MakeHealth'.

Posted on:
Monday 21 March 2016

Gdansk, ‘the city of freedom’, once famous for breaking free from Soviet rulers, was stage of the Personal Democracy Forum on reconnecting citizens.

Posted on:
Thursday 17 March 2016

The message that Plume Labs started measuring air quality in London with pigeons also reached the Dutch media in the past days. Could it be repeated in Amsterdam maybe?

Posted on:
Monday 14 March 2016

Many inspiring and interesting people have stopped by the Waag over the past twenty years, but this evening was special in many ways.

Posted on:
Monday 07 March 2016

One month after the annual Transmediale in Berlin, Frank Kresin feels the urge to look back on the experience. It painted a bleak picture; how to move forward?

Posted on:
Thursday 03 March 2016

In the Textiles and Clothing Business Labs project, Waag Society works with partners from all across Europe to share knowledge while exploring alternatives for the textile and clothing industry.

Posted on:
Wednesday 02 March 2016

With Cellular Propeller, Howard Boland seeks to investigate one of the possibilities of synthetic biology: the bringing together of organic and synthetic materials in the creation of new pseudo-organisms.

Posted on:
Friday 26 February 2016

This week, the third BioHack Academy had a kickoff and students learned their first lesson: 'With great bio-power comes great responsibility'.

Posted on:
Thursday 25 February 2016

Every Tuesday night we open up the Wetlab for anyone who is interested in learning, making, doing new cool bio-concepts and bio-things. Since the beginning of this year we have changed the format a little bit.

Posted on:
Thursday 18 February 2016

What moves web designers these days? To find an answer to this question, Martin Risseeuw visited the AWWWARDS conference in Amsterdam in January.

Pages