On behalf of the European Commission, Ars Electronica in collaboration with among others BOZAR and Waag issues an open call for entries to the STARTS prize competition. STARTS prize determines the recipients of these prestigious and—with two € 20,000 prizes each year—highly endowed awards. Expressly encouraged are innovative projects at the interface of science, technology and art.

Innovation in and for Europe
Science, Technology and ARTS (STARTS for short) limn a nexus at which insightful observers have identified extraordinarily high potential for innovation. And innovation is precisely what’s called for if we’re to master the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future. In this STARTS Prize initiative, the European Commission’s focus is on projects and people that can make meaningful contributions to this effort.

Art as Catalyst
Here, art is assigned the role of catalyst that propagates scientific and technological knowledge and skills among the general public and triggers innovative processes. Accordingly, STARTS is emphasising, on one hand, artistic works that influence or change the way we look at technology, and, on the other hand, very promising forms of collaboration between the private sector and the world of art and culture. A prizewinning project will be singled out for recognition in both categories and each will be supported with € 20,000 prize money.

Project duration

1 Jan 2021 - 31 Dec 2023




  • Ars Electronica


  • EU - Horizon 2020 programma
EU official flag

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 956603.

Related articles